Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

CMOS 20 sept 2017 Weather Information In the New Digital Age

September 20, 2017 @ 12:00 - 15:00

$20

Upcoming Luncheon Meeting – Wednesday 20 September 2017

SPEAKER:  Ian Black, CBC weather broadcaster


TITLE
:  Weather Information In the New Digital Age


ABSTRACT
:  Conventional media (television and radio) still plays a huge part in the way weather information is distributed to the public, but digital platforms (mobile phones, Twitter, Facebook, internet sites, etc.) are ever rising in popularity.  How the industry has changed in the last 20 years and where it is possibly heading will be discussed.


PLACE:  
Rideau Canal Junior Ranks Mess, 4 Queen Elizabeth Drive, Ottawa.  Side entrance, Harmony Room, 4th floor (elevator available)

COST:  $25 non members; $20 members & their spouses; students $10

TIME:  12:00 noon

MENU:  tba

PARKING:  On street parking in the vicinity

RSVP:  Please confirm your attendance by Doodle (click here)

Alternatively, please contact any of the following to be added to our list, or if you have problems with Doodle:

Martin Gauthier 613-730 7608 ext 2520; email: martin.gauthier@rwdi.com
Ann McMillan 613-831-5851; email: mcmillan@storm.ca
Paul Pestieau 613-990-6855; email:  Paul.Pestieau@canada.ca
Bob Jones 613-820-6336; email:  jonesb@ncf.ca
Daria Bradbury 613-949-9119; email:  Daria.Bradbury@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Hoy Chow 819-938-4429; email:  hoy.chow@canada.ca
Tom Zagon: 613-992-8431; email:  tom.zagon@canada.ca

CANCELLATION:  If you need to cancel, please change your Doodle information as soon as possible or let a contact person know so we can cancel your food order.

NEXT MEETING:  Tuesday 24 October 2017, speaker Geoff Strong, on Global Warming Impacts – Present and Future Scenarios

Details

Date:
September 20, 2017
Time:
12:00 - 15:00
Cost:
$20
Event Category:
Event Tags:
,
Website:
http://cmos.ca/site/ottawa

Organizer

Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society
Website:
http://www.cmos.ca/

Venue

Rideau Canal Junior Ranks Mess
4 Queen Elizabeth Drive
Ottawa, On Canada
+ Google Map